WhatsApp for Instant ID

All you need to know about the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

need to know about the icc men T20 world cup 2024

What is the Format for the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup?

The 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup is set to be the biggest yet, featuring 20 teams and a return to a familiar format. All teams start in an initial group stage, playing four games each. The top two teams from each group advance to the Super 8s.

In the Super 8s, held exclusively in the Caribbean, there will be two groups of four. Eight teams (India, Pakistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, West Indies, South Africa, and Sri Lanka) are seeded for planning and scheduling purposes. These seeded teams will be placed into Group 1 or Group 2 based on their seeding rather than their initial group stage positions.

From the Super 8s, the top two teams from each group will progress to the semifinals, with each group’s winner facing the runnerup from the other group. Throughout both phases, teams earn two points for a win, one for a no result, and zero for a loss. Ties are not possible in T20 cricket, as more details on tiebreakers will be provided below.

Who is Competing in the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup?

The expanded tournament includes most of the big cricketing nations. The only Testplaying nation not to qualify is Zimbabwe, which failed to progress through their qualifier tournament.

The 20 teams are divided into four groups for the initial phase:

  • Group A: Canada, India (A1), Ireland, Pakistan (A2), USA
  • Group B: Australia (B2), England (B1), Namibia, Oman, Scotland
  • Group C: Afghanistan, New Zealand (C1), Papua New Guinea, Uganda, West Indies (C2)
  • Group D: Bangladesh, Nepal, Netherlands, South Africa (D1), Sri Lanka (D2)

What Venues and Stadiums are Being Used in the 2024 T20 World Cup?

This tournament marks cricket’s first major global event in the United States, with 16 of the 55 matches hosted there. The U.S. venues include:

  • Florida: Central Broward Park & Broward County Stadium
  • New York: Nassau County International Cricket Stadium
  • Texas: Grand Prairie Stadium
  • The New York stadium has been specially created for the tournament, featuring a pitch flown in from Adelaide, Australia, and temporary seating.

In the Caribbean, matches will be held at:

  • Antigua & Barbuda: Sir Vivian Richards Stadium
  • Barbados: Kensington Oval
  • Guyana: Guyana National Stadium
  • Saint Lucia: Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium
  • St. Vincent & the Grenadines: Arnos Vale Playing Field
  • Trinidad & Tobago: Brian Lara Cricket Academy

 Previous Men’s T20 World Cup Winners

There have been eight editions of the Men’s T20 World Cup, with six different teams claiming the title. Here’s a list of all the winners : 

  •  2007: India
  •  2009: Pakistan
  •  2010: England
  •  2012: West Indies
  •  2014: Sri Lanka
  •  2016: West Indies
  •  2021: Australia
  •  2022: England

Stay updated with the latest tournament news and insights on Lotus365, your go to source for cricket betting and analysis.

Photo of author


WhatsApp for Instant ID